PROGRAMME FOR THE 8th INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING 11-15 JUNE 2007 TSHWANE, SOUTH AFRICA

VENUE: DIEP IN DIE BERG CONFERENCE AND FUNCTION CENTRE

10 JUNE 2007

Arrival of Delegates and Registration

DAY 1: MONDAY, 11 JUNE 2007

8:00 am - 9:00 am Registration continues

PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: CHAIR OF THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE OF THE M.O.W PROGRAMME & DEPUTY PRESIDENT OF THE BUREAU OF THE M.O.W PROGRAMME: MS M.GILDER

9:00 am – 9:15 am Welcome: Executive Mayor of Tshwane:

Dr. G. Ramokgopa

9:15 am - 9:30 am Remarks: Head of Programme UNESCO: Mr. A. Abid

9:30 am - 9:50 am Remarks: Chairperson on the Committee of Cultural

Diversity: Prof. K Asmal

9:50 am - 10:10 am Remarks: Assistant Director- General of UNESCO

responsible for Africa: Dr. T. Serpos

10:10 am – 10:30 am Address: Minister of the Department of Arts and Culture:

Dr. Z. Pallo Jordan

10:30 am - 11:00 am **TEA/REFRESHMENTS**

PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: SECRETARY GENERAL OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR UNESCO: Mr. S. KGAMPHE OR PROF. J. BREDEKAMP ICCOM SA PRESIDENT

Theme: Importance of Preserving our Heritage both Tangible and Intangible

11:00 am – 11:30 am	Adv. S Mancotywa CEO of National Heritage Council (NHC):
11:35 am – 12:05 pm	Dr. Y Seleti: Chief Director of the National Indigenous Knowledge Systems Office (NIKSO) Department of Science and Technology (DST):
12:05 pm – 12:30 pm	Questions and answers
12:35 pm – 13:35 pm	LUNCH
13:35 pm – 14:05 pm	M.o.W programme: Head of Memory of the World Programme Mr. A. Abid
14:10 pm – 15:00 pm	Questions & Answers Session
15:00 pm – 15:30 pm	TEA / REFRESHMENTS
15:30 pm – 16:00 pm	Summary of the day's events - Mr S. KGAMPHE SECRETARY GENERAL OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR UNESCO: OR PROF. J. BREDEKAMP: ICCOM SA PRESIDENT
16:05 pm – 16:10 pm	Announcements: Mr. D. Maake: Head of the NATIONAL FILM, VIDEO AND SOUND ARCHIVES (NFVSA)

CLOSURE

FREE EVENING

16:15 pm

DAY 2: TUESDAY, 12 JUNE 2007

PROGRAMME DIRECTOR: Director Living Heritage: Mr. Phakamani Mthembu

9:00 am – 9:30 am Workshop on M.o.W programme: Assistant Head of

MoW Programme: Ms J. Springer

Case Studies: National Committees

9:30 am – 9:50 am Austria Mr. D. Schueller

9:50 am – 10:10 am Poland Prof W. Falkowski

10:10 am – 10:30 am Mexico Ms. R. de Zamora

10:30 am - 11:00 am **TEA / REFRESHMENTS**

Regional Committees

11:00 am – 11:20 am Latin America and Caribbean: Ms Elizabeth Watson

11:20 am – 11:40 am Asia and Pacific: Mr. R. Edmondson

12:00 pm - 13:00 pm Group Sessions Discussion on the Draft

FRAMEWORK OF THE TSHWANE MINUTE

5 Groups of 15 countries each

2 IAC members per group

2 **SA** Institutions representatives per group

13:00 pm - 14:00 pm LUNCH (Outgoing Bureau to meet over lunch)

14:00 pm – 14:50 pm Groups report back to Plenary

14:50 pm – 15:30 pm Questions & Answers

15:30 pm – 16:00 pm **TEA/REFRESHMENTS**

16:00 pm – 16:30 pm Draft Resolutions: Ms. I Assmann: South African

Broadcasting Corporation (SABC)

16:30 pm – 16:35 pm **Announcements**: Ms. K. Ngcobo Head of National

Archives Repository:

16:40 pm CLOSURE

FREE EVENING (African Delegates to meet informally after dinner to

work on the Tshwane Minute, etc)

DAY 3: WEDNESDAY, 13 JUNE 2007

8:00 Arrival of Delegates at the National Archives

Excursion for Non-IAC delegates ONLY ((African Delegates to meet informally after excursion to work on the Tshwane Minute, etc)

- 1. National Archives
- 2. Maropeng
- 3. Sterkfontein
- 4. Hector Pieterson
- 5. Back to Tshwane (Hotels)

NB: Lunch will be served at Maropeng for Non-IAC Delegates and for IAC Delegates Lunch will be served at Diep In Die Berg.

Closed Meeting of IAC members

Opening Ceremony – Welcome by Dr. Z Pallo Jordan: Minister of Arts & Culture:

WEDNESDAY, 13 JUNE 2007 BANQUET PROGRAMME

18:00 pm – 22:00 pm BANQUET HOSTED BY THE MINISTER OF THE

DEPARTMENT OF ARTS AND CULTURE

DRESS CODE: BLACK TIE\EVENING WEAR\TRADITIONAL WEAR

MC: ACTING DIRECTOR-GENERAL: Mr. V. JULIUS

DEPARTMENT OF ARTS & CULTURE (DAC)

Arrival of Delegates

Cultural Performance (Classical Music/Opera)

Minister's Address

Cultural Performance

DINNER

Music & Performance

Vote of thanks: National Archivist of Algeria or National Archivist of

Senegal

DAY 4: THURSDAY, 14 JUNE 2007

Closed meeting of IAC members continues

Free day for Non- IAC delegates

FREE EVENING FOR ALL [NB: - Excursion to Lesedi Cultural Village – By IAC/Bureau members only.]

DAY 5: FRIDAY, 15 JUNE 2007

MORNING

Adoption of the final report (closed meeting)

AFTERNOON

PROGRAMME DIRECTOR:	Prof. M. Makhanya: Head of Culture Sector (UNESCO) SA:
14:00 pm – 14:20 pm	Remarks/observations: Mr. A Abid: Head of Memory
	of the World Programme,
14:20 pm – 14:30 pm	Establishment of an Africa Regional Committee -
	(Announcement of country representatives)-Aziz
	Abid
14:30 pm – 14:45 pm	Tabling of the draft framework of the Tshwane Minute:
	Mr. A Abid: Head of Memory of the World Programme
14:45 pm – 15:00 pm	Special Tribute to the Head of Memory of the World
	Programme: Ms. M. Gilder: Chair of the South African
	National Committee for UNESCO
15:00 pm – 15:30 pm	TEA/REFRESHMENTS
10.00 ріні 10.00 ріні	TEARLE REGIMENTO
15:30 pm – 15:45 pm	Closing address: Deputy Minister Ms N.W.G. Botha
	Department of Arts and Culture
15:45 pm – 15:50 pm	Announcements: Ms M. Gilder: Chair of the South
	African National Committee for UNESCO
15:55 pm	CLOSURE

FAREWELL DINNER: HOSTED BY THE DEPUTY MINISTER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ARTS AND CULTURE

FRIDAY, 15 JUNE 2007 (18:00- 22:00)

DRESS CODE: Formal or Traditional

MC: Mr. T. Wakashe Deputy Director General Heritage, Archives

AND LIBRARY

Arrival of Guests

Cultural Performance

Deputy Minister's Address

DINNER

Music & Performance

Vote of thanks: Mr. J. M'reria: National Archivist of Kenya:

CLOSURE

DAY 6: SATURDAY, 16 JUNE 2007

DEPARTURES BY DELEGATES